Credit-Bearing Summer Session

Information regarding the Credit-Bearing Summer Session can be found here!

Summer Session Flyer

Summer Session Application Form

BCPS Online Payment System

Who: Students in Grades 9-12 attempting to improve their GPA by repeating a class or wishing to take a new course to accelerate their learning. (Rising 9th graders included)

Location: Virtual - in person if student falls behind (at Susie G. Gibson Science and Technology Center.)

Program Duration: June 8 - July 22, 2021 (Learner determines pace of coursework completion)

Orientation: Zoom Meetings on June 7, 2021 - Must attend one! (9:00 AM or 4:30 PM)

Transportation: Not provided

Registration: Pre-register for courses between April 19 and May 28, 2021, with a school counselor using the form provided.

Student Fees:
In-County Course - $300
**VADETS is $109 additional fee associated with Health and PE 10**
Out of County* Course- $338

Fee Information:

  • ENROLLMENT CONTINGENT UPON FEE PAYMENT BY CASH, CHECK, or CARD to the base school by Tuesday, June 1, 2021. Absolutely no exceptions will be given after this deadline has passed.
  • **There are fees associated with online payments. See the summer school website or your counselor for more information.
  • Payments will not be accepted at summer school orientation meetings.

General Information for ALL Learners:

  • Campus Classes: 8:30 am -12:30 pm, Monday – Thursday at Susie G. Gibson Science and Technology Center - For students repeating courses or falling behind in progress.
  •  Repeat courses will work on site for the first 2 weeks. Maintaining progress will earn a release to work at home.
  •  If students fall more than 10% behind in progress, they may be asked to come in to work on site until the grade and/or progress improves.
  • Chromebooks must be checked at the base school before the end of school year by an ITRT or an IT Technician. If you cannot do this, you must check in at Susie G. Gibson Science and Technology Center on June 8th for a check during school hours of 8:30 am - 12:30 pm. No Chromebook check could result in dismissal from the program.
  • Virtual classes
  • Testing (WISE test for Personal Finance and end-of-course SOL tests) will occur when students are ready and will be scheduled with students. All SOL tests are untimed, but must be completed in one session
  • Success conferences/advisories with a teacher will occur weekly via one of the following methods: face-to-face, phone conversations, or by the utilization of technology.

*Out of County students will be required to obtain a pre-approval letter on official school stationery signed by their principal stating acceptance of the credit and program procedure.

**Working outside of the hours of summer session will be necessary for all students to complete the coursework.

Students will be participating in multiple methods of instruction, which will be personalized based on individual student data from pre-assessments, teacher observations, previous SOL test results, weekly progress conferences, and a student’s self-assessment throughout the course.

Courses being offered:

  • Algebra I
  • Algebra II
  • Geometry
  • Algebra Functions & Data Analysis
  • English 9
  • English 10
  • English 11
  • English 12
  • Economics & Personal Finance
  • World History I
  • World History II
  • Virginia and US History
  • Virginia and US Government
  • Health/Physical Education 9
  • Health/Physical Education 10
  • Driver's Ed coursework will be completed through VADETS and is a required component. (There is a $109 fee for VADETS, paid to the school system for the program.)

Course Information for all students:

When: June 8 - July 23, 2021

  •  Falling behind in a new course could result in required attendance at Susie G. Gibson Science and Technology Center during the Summer Session.

What: Students are only allowed to sign up for one course at a time.

How: Finish all coursework by July 22, 2021

Testing: Standards of Learning (SOL) tentative testing window: July 12 - 23, 2021. WISE testing on a case by case basis. VADETS testing will be set up with the PE course instructor.

  • Testing sessions will be set up as a student is ready to test.

Attendance:

  • Work from wherever you choose, whenever you choose.
  • Login daily and successfully complete 4% or more of your course each day.
  • Come into summer school when directed to by the teacher or as needed for assistance.
  • Falling behind in the course could result in required attendance at Summer Session at Susie G. Gibson Science and Technology Center.

For more information, please contact your school counselor or Kathy Brisentine for information.

Kathy Brisentine - Offsite Learning Coordinator - kbrisentine@bedford.k12.va.us

Jefferson Forest High School

Shannon Fisher - students last name A-D - sfisher@bedford.k12.va.us

Meg Watson - students last name E-K - mwatson@bedford.k12.va.us

Margaret Williamson - students last name L-R - mwilliamson@bedford.k12.va.us

Ryan Stuller - students last name S-Z – rstuller@bedford.k12.va.us


Liberty High School

Robyn Whorley - students last name A-D - rwhorley@bedford.k12.va.us

Holly Shumate - students last name E-M - holly.shumate@bedford.k12.va.us

Erik Olson - students last name N-Z - erik.olson@bedford.k12.va.us


Staunton River High School

Chelsea Craig - students last name A-G - chelsea.craig@bedford.k12.va.us

Kelsey Howes - students last name H-Q - kelsey.howes@bedford.k12.va.us

Jessica Schenko - students last name R-Z - jessica.schenko@bedford.k12.va.us

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.