Credit-Bearing Summer Session

Information regarding the Credit-Bearing Summer Session can be found here!

Summer Session Flyer
Summer Session Registration Form

Who:        Students Grades 8 - 12 (currently completing HS courses)   

Location:                 Anywhere with internet 

Program Duration:     April 20 - July 22, 2020

                                          (Learner determines pace of coursework completion) 

Orientation:                An email will be sent with instructions once a participant is fully signed up.

Registration:               Registration will be ongoing until June 22, 2020. Registration fees are non-refundable after the start of the course!

Student Fees:               In-County New Class- $300

                                       In-County Repeat Course - No cost 

                                       **VADETS is $109 additional fee associated with Health and PE 10**

 

Fee Information:    

  • ENROLLMENT CONTINGENT UPON FEE PAYMENT BY CARD to the base school before the course will be assigned and work can be completed.
  • Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, payment is preferred through the online payment system.  Checks may be mailed into schools, but there will be up to a 2 week delay to starting the course with this method of payment.
  • There are no refunds if the student has started the course.
  • Register for the online payment system here!

General Information:

  • Virtual classes
  • Repeat courses will only be offered for students who failed the first semester.
  • Testing will occur online for W!SE testing with Personal Finance.There will be no SOL tests.VADETS exams must be proctored and will be scheduled with Janelle Trosper.
  • Success conferences/advisories with a teacher will occur weekly via one of the following: phone conversations or by the utilization of technology.

 

Students will be participating in multiple methods of instruction, which will be personalized based on individual student data from pre-assessments, teacher observations, previous SOL test results, weekly progress conferences, and a student’s self-assessment throughout the course.  

Courses being offered: 

  • Algebra I 
  • Algebra II
  • Chemistry*
  • Geometry
  • Algebra Functions & Data Analysis
  • Biology*
  • Biology II/Ecology
  • Earth Science*
  • English 9
  • English 10
  • English 11
  • English 12
  • Economics & Personal Finance
  • World Geography
  • World History I
  • World History II
  • Virginia and US History
  • Virginia and US Government
  • Health/Physical Education 9
  • Health/Physical Education 10 with VADETS

Driver's Ed coursework will be completed through VADETS and is a required component. There is a $109 fee for VADETS, paid to the school system for the program. **PLEASE NOTE - VADETS must be completed on a PC or laptop device. The program from the VDOE is not compatible with a Chromebook.**

* denotes course only offered as a repeat course.

Course Information for all students:
Who:  New Courses and Repeat Courses
When:  April 20 - July 22, 2020.
What:  Students are only allowed to be signed up for one course at a time.  
A maximum of three courses are allowed during the summer session.
A course must be successfully finished before a student may sign up for the next course.
How:  Finish all course work before the start of the 2020-2021 school year.
Testing: 
PE testing:
o Fitness testing will happen in person later in the summer.
o CPR testing will happen when groups can meet, possibly in the Fall semester of 2020-2021
o VADETS testing will be proctored in small groups.
o All PE testing will be organized by Janelle Trosper.

 

For more information, please contact your school counselor or Kathy Brisentine for information.


Kathy Brisentine - Offsite Learning Coordinator - kbrisentine@bedford.k12.va.us


Jefferson Forest High School

Elizabeth Newby - students last name A-C - enewby@bedford.k12.va.us

Meg Watson - students last name D-J - mwatson@bedford.k12.va.us

Margaret Williamson - students last name K-Q - mwilliamson@bedford.k12.va.us

Miranda Lowry - students last name R-Z - mlowry@bedford.k12.va.us


Liberty High School

Robyn Whorley - students last name A-D - rwhorley@bedford.k12.va.us

Michelle Fluker - students last name E-N - michelle.fluker@bedford.k12.va.us

Erik Olson - students last name O-Z - erik.olson@bedford.k12.va.us


Staunton River High School

Chelsea Craig - students last name A-G - chelsea.craig@bedford.k12.va.us

Kelsey Howes - students last name H-Q - kelsey.howes@bedford.k12.va.us

Jessica Schenko - students last name R-Z - jessica.schenko@bedford.k12.va.us


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.